Feversong by Karen Marie Moning

51hilzuad1l-_sy346_Rating: 2.5 stars

Series: Fever #9

A few things were good, but most of it was incredibly disappointing. The first third was boring as hell and repetitive. Then it got interesting for a while. By the halfway mark I was annoyed and stayed that way for the rest of the book. The only reason I finished this so quickly is because I knew if I put it down I’d never pick it back up again.

I could have lived without the many chapters from the sinsar dubh. Yeah I got it quite early on that it was evil. I didn’t need to read over and over again about how it wanted to kill. I didn’t think Aoibheal’s POV was necessary either. I just didn’t care about what she was going through. Those chapters took up a lot of page time without revealing anything useful. The Dani backstory chapters were interesting but had absolutely no effect on the story whatsoever.

The Dani/Ryodan/Dancer love triangle was obnoxious. The way that played out really pissed me off. It was done in a way that would manage to appease everyone regardless of who they shipped. I hated the way it ended. I wanted Dani to make a definitive choice instead of waffling about who she preferred for the whole book. When she made that choice, I wanted it to be a happy one. Her reasons for doing what she did were based more on circumstance than her own wants and needs.So much angst and tension, just to be majorly let down.

Dani finally found a good balance between her new and old self. Aside from the love triangle bullshit I really liked her. Mac finally got her shit together. It would have been better if it could have happened earlier in the series. Things ended up for Mac the way I thought they would in regards to what she turned into. There had been hints about magic being drawn to her earlier in the series. It was unfortunate that she and Barrons weren’t more open with each other. They were still committed and trusted each other completely, but I wasn’t feeling the passion.

Cruce had an important role. A different side of him was seen in this. He was still a temperamental bastard but opened up a little with Mac. They had more heartfelt conversations than Mac did with Barrons, which seemed wrong for the final book. It was good that he and Mac came to an understanding. It was sad in a way. I really think he would have done anything for her. OTOH it was disappointing that Mac moved past her issues with him so easily. Obviously I didn’t want her to be permanently traumatized by what he did to her, but she brushed it off like it was nothing. It was bizarre that she put so much trust in him. It felt like an attempt to make Cruce into a good guy. Although I’ve always like Cruce, that ship sailed a long time ago.

Ryodan is a douchebag of epic proportions. I’ve never liked him. I can’t buy into his sudden shift into being a good guy. The guy is hundreds or possibly thousands of years old, and now he suddenly decides to change? Not fucking likely. It seemed like his character changed to make a potential Dani and Ryodan relationship more palatable.

Many of the side characters’ storylines were essentially dropped. WTH was going on with Daegeus? Or Kat? What was the significance of the Shazaam subplot? It had no bearing on anything. Virtually nothing happened with Christian. WTF are the nine? Why wasn’t that explained in the last book? It should have been.

Honestly IDK why I continued to read this series. It went downhill after the fifth book. Scratch that. Downhill is too light of a term to describe what happened. This series got so bad so quickly it’s like it plunged off a cliff. There are too many useless POV. The books drag and are mostly filler. Things didn’t end the way I hoped they would, but I still felt the need to know how it ended after investing so much time in the series.

 

One thought on “Feversong by Karen Marie Moning

Leave a Reply

