Siege by K.F. Breene

29435828Rating: 2.5 stars

Series: The Warrior Chronicles #5

It’s time for this series to come to an end. So much of this felt like filler. There was a hell of a lot of action, but by the end the story didn’t advance much compared to where it began. Character development was seriously lacking unless learning that Leilius is kinky in the sack is character development. How is it possible for so much and so little to occur in the same book?

Honestly I thought this was the last book when I started it, but obviously I was wrong. After reading all of the other books, I want to know how it all ends although it’s not really a big mystery. This is not one of those series where there’s a good possibility the characters I love will die. Chances are Shanti and Cayan will march in there, kick Xandre’s ass, and survive.

I didn’t hate this, but it was seriously disappointing. Definitely the worst book in the series so far. I started skimming after a while when there was once action scene after another but nothing useful was being learned from it.

As the series has gone on the cast of characters has expanded greatly. I don’t have a problem with that. What I don’t like is that the focus of the series is spread amongst all of those characters rather than remaining on Shanti and Cayan. They are the core of the series. Yet I feel like they’ve been relegated to side characters.

The one thing that salvaged this book for me was the humor. I busted out laughing a few times. Sanders was the funniest of them all. He reminds me of a crotchety old grandparent who refuses to accept change and is hilarious while they bitch about it.

I will read the next one, but I can’t say I’m looking forward to it. My expectations are really low.

Leave a Reply

