Full of Briars by Seanan McGuire

61f6iecovdlRating: 4 stars

Series: Toby Daye #9.3

Normally I don’t write reviews for short stories, but a lot happened although most of it isn’t essential to the overarching plot in the series. Finally I got to read about when Toby met the high king and queen! I felt short changed when it didn’t happen at the end of Chimes at Midnight. Anyway better late than never.

This was the first and hopefully the last story from Quentin’s POV. The glimpse inside his head made me like him less. Toby clearly has had a positive influence on him over the years, but it isn’t enough to erase all of his snobby, elitist views. Maybe it’s just because I love Tybalt so much, but how dare he look down on him! Tybalt is twice the man he’ll ever be.

The romantic angle introduced at the end came completely out of left field. Was there any indication of them having feelings for each other in the books? If so I missed it which is unlikely since I’ve read all of the books except for the newest one more than once or I completely forgot about it. Then again Quentin’s romantic entanglements have never been of much interest to me.

Onto the good stuff: I loved Tybalt! That man can do no wrong. It was interesting to read about Toby from someone else’s POV. Sometimes that can be awkward but it worked here. The king and queen were different than I expected. One important question was raised that could be important later on in the series, but if you want to know what that question is read it and find out.

Leave a Reply

