Paper and Fire by Rachel Caine

25890355Rating: 2.5 stars

Series: The Great Library #2

The concept behind this series is great, but it’s not enough. I love the idea of a library that controls all knowledge and its dissemination worldwide. Over thousands of years they were corrupted by power. Any threat to their power is taken out long before they become a serious problem. But I want more. The world building was thoroughly explained in the last book. This series needed an injection of something else, and it didn’t get it. Nothing happened to advance the overarching plot. It wasn’t boring. Actually there was quite a bit of action, but it was pointless.

What I wanted from this book was character development, and it didn’t happen. Jess is the only character with any depth, but nothing new was learned about him. The other characters still feel like strangers. Sure their behavior, strengths, and weaknesses were described, but I don’t feel it. It’s impossible to care about them when they don’t arouse any emotions.

I did like this although the reasons why are inexplicable. It held my attention and I wasn’t bored, which is more than I can say about a lot of other books. The potential to be awesome is there, but if the next book is anything like this it’ll be the last book in the series I’ll read.

Leave a Reply

