The Dead by Donna Augustine

18872656Rating: 4 stars

Series: The Wilds #3

After reading The Hunt I was ready to give up on this series. For some reason once I noticed The Dead had been released, I felt compelled to read it. This series has its faults, but there is something I really like about it. Surprisingly this turned out to be the best book in the series yet! All of the issues I had with The Hunt were resolved.

No more love triangle! I wish it hadn’t been included at all, but I applaud Donna Augustine for not dragging it out. She chose the guy I ship!!! It was awesome!

Dal was still immature at times. In all fairness she is in her late teens and was extremely sheltered while growing up. It makes sense that she doesn’t always read people right and understand certain social cues. OTOH she is maturing. She sorted out some relationship issues. An immature route was used to get there but nonetheless there was a resolution to the issues. Some of the things she did were brave and smart.

Finally another side of Dax was shown! I really liked him being playful and goofing around even if it was only a little bit. He was still serious and closed off at times, but that’s just him. One of the things I admire the most about him is how he’s fiercely protective. It’s easy to see how that could be considered somewhat overbearing, but his intentions are good. With this book it is official: Dax is my newest book boyfriend.

Some headway was made with the plague and the Dark Walkers. The plague was coming back, which made life harder for Dal since most people believe she spreads it. A lot more was learned about the Dark Walkers. Many of Dal’s friends were in danger. There was a cliffhanger at the end, but I expected it so it didn’t bother me. I really want the next one. It’s going to be a long wait until September.

Leave a Reply

