Sloth by Ella James

23716176Rating: 2 stars

Series: Sinful Secrets #1

Although this is the first in a series, it can be read as a stand alone.

The blurb was vague, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. I’ll tell you one thing I certainly was not expecting: a sad romance. I like sad books and romances, but I sure as shit don’t want them combined. I wanted to give up on this many, many times, but I kept reading to figure out what the mysterious connection between Cleo and Kellan was. It was the only thing compelling me to keep reading. Almost everything else about this book irritated me. It dragged in some parts. I could have been about 200 pages shorter and would have made the same point in the end.

The chapters from Cleo’s POV were almost unbearable. She acted more like a 16 years old than a college kid. I think she was meant to be optimistic, but it came off as immature and flakey. It was hard to get into the romance because of her. I couldn’t figure out why Kellan was interested in her. Kellan was mature and had a lot of emotional baggage. I thought he needed someone who he was more on par with emotionally.

The drug dealer part of the story was stupid. It brought them together but didn’t serve much of a purpose aside from that. Cleo was not a smooth operator when it came to her wheeling and dealing. IMO the way she went about it brought more attention to herself rather than less. I get that she did it for money, but it was odd she didn’t actually smoke. Most people who don’t do drugs don’t willing involve themselves with them. Kellan was smart enough to do what he did, but why? It was never explained.

I thought the story was going to go in a completely different direction than it did. All of the things I thought were clues about Kellan and Cleo’s connection were not. It was surprising when their connection was revealed and was much sadder than expected. Once things were revealed, the story dragged on and on. It felt like it was never going to end.

The fucking epilogue: what a bunch of unnecessary drama! Why do that at the end of a book? Something shocking happened, but nope jk! I couldn’t even enjoy the ending because I was so pissed at being jerked around at the very end of the book.

Leave a Reply

