Grave Witch by Kalayna Price

gravewitchRating: 4 stars

Series: Alex Craft #1

Grave Witch isn’t the most original story ever, but I really liked it anyway. Alex Craft is special. She’s a grave witch but has abilities the average grave witch doesn’t. Her specialness didn’t bother me because it didn’t make everything about her life easier. Alex didn’t run head first into danger and put her life on the line frequently. She’s definitely not the TSTL type.

In this world the fae had come out of hiding 70 years earlier. Before then people didn’t believe in the fae anymore, so they were losing their power. Faerie expanded once people believed in them again. A lot of people didn’t like the them because of their abilities and their deceptive nature, so anti-fae political groups developed. Some people were against any kind of magic, which caused problems for people like Alex. I love stories about the fae because it’s hard to tell if they are being genuine or not.

This is the only series ever where I have actually liked the love triangle. Both of the men are appealing in their own ways. It’s easy to understand why Alex liked both of them. Death is a love interest. I think that’s so fucking cool! He’s not creepy or weird; he’s just a jeans and t-shirt kind of guy. The depiction of death and his role in the story is original. The other love interest is a cop named Falin Andrews. He can be an asshole but not enough to make me dislike him. He has some secrets which is always entertaining.

The end revealed a few important details. It seemed like too much too soon since this is the first book in the series. It’s not that big of a deal, but I like being kept in suspense for a little while in a series. Since I’ve already read the other books, I know there are way more details to be revealed about what Alex learned.

2 thoughts on “Grave Witch by Kalayna Price

  1. I love this series. I also love the love triangle you mentioned. I root for Death more often tho. I know both come with complications, but I’m not sure Falin would stick it out. I also love the pet gargoyle.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d definitely prefer her to be with Death. Falin’s loyalty lies with the Fae Queen, so he’s not trustworthy. Death has broken the rules he’s supposed to follow to help Alex. OTOH I’m not sure how a relationship with Death would work. He’s not corporeal most of the time anyway.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

