Top Ten Tuesday: New to Me Favorite Authors in 2015

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s top ten is about authors who were new to me in 2015 that I loved. Most of these were fairly new authors, but all of them were new to me. I discovered most of them through recommendations from friends.


 Pippa DaCosta  Genres: Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction

51gbyrwnirl-_sx331_bo1204203200_  51fybiyb0il-_sx331_bo1204203200_

Everything she writes is amazing! I love urban fantasy, but I’ve gotten bored with it. After reading so much of it, it all blends together and doesn’t seem special anymore. Then I read The Veil Series, and it has renewed my faith in urban fantasy. It wasn’t predictable and formulaic like so much of the stuff in the genre I’d been reading. Then I decided to read The 1000 Revolution series by Pippa DaCosta. Once again I loved it! The shocking thing is it was science fiction, and I don’t even like science fiction. IDK why she is not topping all of the bestseller lists because when I read books from bestseller lists they aren’t nearly as engaging, memorable, or addicting as her books are. Pippa DaCosta is extremely talented, and I hope she continues to write books for a long time.


 Courtney Lane  Genres: Dark Romance, Suspense

51q2b81ziyl-_sx331_bo1204203200_ 27831851

 I read The Sordid Promise. It was by far one of the best books I read all year. The romance was great and far from conventional. The plot kept me guessing until the very end. Honestly I hadn’t even wanted to read it mainly because the cover was cheesy looking, but it came highly recommended from a friend. I’d definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a dark story with a good romance.


M.L. Brennan  Genre: Urban Fantasy

15812812 51npar3lr2bl-_sx308_bo1204203200_ 21840287 23590296

Generation V is a must read for anyone who loves vampires. It has a new spin on how they are created and on how they feed. I love the writing. This series has way more humor than the average UF series. If Brennan ever writes another series, I will definitely read it.


 Stylo Fantome  Genre: Dark Romance

51ijj9z02al-_sx331_bo1204203200_ 41dii4120tl-_sx331_bo1204203200_ 23623313

The Kane Trilogy was entertaining. The two main characters were unpredictable. They were not reserved when it came to sex and loved dirty talk. The problem with these two characters wasn’t necessarily a lack of communication but the inability to be honest with themselves.


 J.M. Darhower  Genres: Romance, Paranormal Romance

17834122 22876275 18338465

J.M. Darhower does romance but doesn’t stick to a specific kind. The Forever duet was mafia romance. The Extinguish duet was paranormal romance. Both of them were really good. Extinguish was a lot better than most paranormal romances.


R.K. Ryals  Genres: Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, Young Adult

23598387

This is an indie author way more people should be reading. I can be very picky about what paranormal romances I like, but these grabbed my attention right from the start. They’re the type of books that are heavy on plot with strong romantic elements. For a standalone I’d highly recommend In the Land of Tea and Ravens. The only series of hers I read was Redemption, but I plan on reading the others.


 T.M. Frazier  Genres: Dark Romance, Suspense

51mapzeyi3l-_sx304_bo1204203200_ 25711641

I’ve read almost everything she’s written. Her books are on the lighter end of dark romance, but man are they addicting. The males are usually the bad boys who you can’t help but love once you get to know them.


 Rachel Caine  Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

61trafchFIL__SX332_BO1,204,203,200_

I know she’s been around for a while, but I finally picked up Ink and Bone. There were issues with it, but the idea for this series was so cool! I can’t wait to see what happens in the rest of the series. I will definitely check out some of her other series soon.


 J.D. Robb  Genres: Mystery, Romance

9780749954161 9780749954215 51bprgcevsl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

I’ve only read a few books in the In Death series, but they are great! The mysteries aren’t predictable. I love Eve, but let’s be honest: the best thing about this series is Roarke. *swoon*


Megan D. Martin  Genre: Dark Romance

25916491

I only read her Filthy series. Quite a few things would be triggers for some people. It deals with mental issues and abuse. The main character was really messed up. This was absolutely addicting and a guilty pleasure.

Leave a Reply

