Cinder by Marissa Meyer

11235712Rating: 2.5 stars

Series: The Lunar Chronicles #1

Cinder was a cyborg, and cyborgs were a degenerate group of humans according to the “normal” humans. Cyborgs were hated for being cyborgs. No valid reason was given. Haters gonna hate so apparently no backstory was necessary. This didn’t fly with me. Cyborgs were made after a critical injury that otherwise would have killed the person. It seems like saving lives should be a good thing, and if cyborgs were inferior why keep making them? It all boils down to extremely shitty world building.

All of the major plot points were incredibly predictable. Early on in the book Cinder was forced into a situation that killed all other cyborgs. What? Was I actually supposed to believe that the main fucking character was just a regular joe who would die? Yeah, well, it didn’t work. The special MC trope is overused and isn’t hard to spot. And the memories from the early part of Cinder’s life were missing. Shortly after it was mentioned that a person vital to saving the world had been missing. Hmmm… I wonder what that could mean?

Now onto the highlight of this amazingly original tale: the romance. Cinder and the prince met. Then they had several chance encounters after that. No witty banter ensued nor any in depth conversations, but yet they were drawn to each other. Why? I don’t get it. It’s not like the chemistry was oozing off the page.

The characters needed work. Cinder was okay but did a few things that were obviously going to backfire. Prince Kai seemed like an average teenage kid. I expected him to be more refined and sophisticated. Apparently he didn’t learn much from his father about being king. Diplomacy was not his forte. He had poor self control in regards to controlling his emotions. Being an effective king involves knowing when and when not to say what you really think. The lunar queen was just pure evil but not in an interesting way. She bored me.

There isn’t really much else to say about this. I didn’t hate it. I wasn’t bored, but I don’t want to read the next one either.

5 thoughts on “Cinder by Marissa Meyer

    1. The special snowflake trope is one of the reasons I have a hard time finding urban fantasy novels that I like. Most of the time the MC is some special type of half breed that is capable of amazing things. I can only read stories like that so many times before I get bored out of my mind.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ll keep it in mind, but with the prices of the newest books for my favorite authors at around $14.99 for e-copy, I may end up skipping that purchase and saving for a much-awaited tale that is higher in cost. 😦 I enjoy your reviews and writing style, though.

        Like

Leave a Reply

