Nocte by Courtney Cole

Rating: 2.5 stars

Series: The Nocte Trilogy #1

The best word to sum up how I felt about this book is boring. Nothing happened for most of the book. It completely lacked suspense. Talk about a dull romance. Calla and Dare spent most of the book getting to know each other. Yet they really didn’t get to know each other because they managed to say a lot without really saying anything significant.

There were very few characters in the book. You’d think this would allow for lots of character development amongst those few characters, but sadly it did not. Most of the time the relationships were explained, but the intimacy of them did not come across on the page. The dad just made some random appearances that contributed nothing to the overall storyline. A key element of the story was the deep twin bond between Calla and Fin. Yet in every interaction they seemed highly detached. Then there was Dare. He had a considerable amount of page time, but literally no development throughout the whole book. I understood so little about him that I didn’t care about him at all. I couldn’t even figure out why Calla was attracted to him. Calla’s feelings for him were explained often enough, but I didn’t feel them.

There was a valid reason for the detachment and secrecy of the characters. Those elements had to be there for the ending to play out. If it could have been done in a way that actually made me give a shit about any character in this book, it would have been a five star book because the big reveal was fantastic. I figured something along those lines would happen since the story heavily focused on mental illness and hallucinations, but I couldn’t figure out what was real and what wasn’t.

Of course the book had to end on a cliffhanger. Frankly I don’t give a shit why Dare was there although the book gave enough hints that it seemed obvious to me. There are obviously plenty of details to be explained Dare’s past, but I just don’t want to know about them. I’m done with this series. I’ve got better things to do with my time.

One thought on “Nocte by Courtney Cole

Leave a Reply

