Magic Shifts by Ilona Andrews

Rating: 4 stars

Series: Kate Daniels #8

I love almost everything Ilona Andrews writes. They could probably write a book about Kate and Curran going grocery shopping, and I’d still love it. I admit Magic Shifts wasn’t one of my favorites in the series. It didn’t have some of the nail biting tension I’m used to.

It was a transitional book, but was still packed with humor and useful information. Kate knew how to function in the real world, but Curran did not. He didn’t exactly understand the intricacies of human interaction. Kate still had a lot to learn about her precarious position in Atlanta and how to deal with it.

I would have liked this more, but I really missed some of the side characters. Derek was around a fair amount but didn’t add much to the storyline either. Roland only had a brief appearance. He’s a fascinating character. I want more of him. A lot more. He’s still such an enigma. My biggest gripe was the complete lack of Hugh. I love Curran. I really do, but there is something special about Hugh. He and Kate are well suited in some ways. I know there is no hope of romance, but it’s fun to see them duke it out.

The mystery was okay. It served a purpose for setting up the next two books, but most of it didn’t tie in with the overarching storyline. It was just a random problem Kate was dealing with. I’ve also been in a dour mood lately. Maybe this will be more compelling when I get around to rereading it.

The epilogue was intriguing. There are definitely good things to come in the next two books.

Leave a Reply

