Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

I was tagged by Escape into Pages. Most of my friends like the same stuff I do, but there are always those times when I loathe something almost everyone else thinks is great. But it wouldn’t be any fun if we all liked the same stuff because then discussing it would be boring as hell. So here are some of my most unpopular opinions.

Popular book or series you didn’t like:

Yeah I know a lot of people with disagree with this. I read the first book a few years ago after hearing great things about it. It was okay. Parts of it were damn hard to get through. The only thing I liked about it was the romance. Take that out of the book, and I don’t give a shit about anything else in it. Historicals are not my thing, so that might have something to do with it. Each book in this series is roughly 800 pages. I couldn’t bear to read another book in the series for a romance especially when I read the blurb for book two and (SPOILER) there was a major time jump and Claire’s super douchy husband Frank was still in the picture.

A popular book or series everyone seems to hate, but you love:

Someone recommended the Toby Daye series to me several years ago. I was hooked with Rosemary and Rue and quickly devoured the rest of the series. Toby’s a great character. She’s tough but still caring and loyal. The side characters are entertaining too. The mysteries aren’t highly complex, but I still liked them. I’ve recommended this series to everyone I know (It’s my favorite series BTW). A lot of people were not impressed with Rosemary and Rue at all. I’ve read tons of discussion boards where people diss it. The people who don’t bother to read the rest of the series based on the first book are missing out because it gets a lot better. I do know people who like Toby Daye, but most of them aren’t fanatical about it like me.

A love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with OR an OTP you don’t like:

Most of you have probably heard of the Southern Vampire Mysteries a.k.a. Sookie Stackhouse novels, and it’s disastrous ending. Well it may not technically count as a love triangle since every supernatural man in existence had an interest in the main character. I loathed Sookie Stackhouse and Sam Merlotte. Worst HEA ever!!! There was not any major build up to the relationship, and the sex was absolutely cringeworthy. Just in case you were wondering I shipped Eric Northman.

A popular book genre you hardly reach for:

Dystopian novels are not for me although they’re one of the latest trends in literature. I’ve read a few of them and have never rated one higher than 3 stars. I’ve never made it past the first book in a series with dystopian novels. Yes that’s right: I read The Hunger Games and did not read the rest of the trilogy.

A popular or beloved character you do not like:

Dani O’Malley from the Fever series. She’s cocky, confident, and incredibly immature. A bad combination all around. The later books in the series focus on Dani more. She is somewhat less annoying but still irritates me. Most people liked the new direction she has taken. Now I hate her for entirely different reasons.

A popular author you can’t seem to get into:

Jeaniene Frost. I’ve read most of her books and have finally given up on them. Her books aren’t bad. I just can’t figure out what is supposed to be so fucking great about them.

A popular book trope you’re tired of seeing (Examples, “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangle, etc.)

The billionaire romances. Millionaires aren’t good enough anymore? A guy who makes 100 grand a year is damn good from where I stand. Money is good to have but it’s not everything. Most of the time in these romances the guys are complete dickheads. But it’s all okay because they’ve got money.

A popular series you have no interest in reading:

Never read the books. Never seen the movies. I don’t want to either.

The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. adaptation do you prefer more than the books?

The Princess Bride has been one of my favorite movies since I was a little kid. I still watch it several times a year. Finally got around to reading the book a few years ago. What a disappointment that was. A bunch of stuff was cut out when adapted to film, and I can understand why.

Consider yourself tagged if you’re one of my followers!

5 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. Loved your responses! 🙂 I completely agree about Dani O’Malley! All of my friends love her, but I find her really irritating! And I also agree about the billionaires. I don’t see why that’s so appealing to women. At first I was okay with those plots, but now every time I read anything with “billionaire” in it I can’t help but roll my eyes lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I knew a lot of people that didn’t like Dani. Then Iced came out, and suddenly people liked her. She was bearable in Iced, but it didn’t sway my opinion of her. Billionaire romances aren’t horrible. It’s become a highly overused trope.

      Like

Leave a Reply

