Blood Toy by B.K. Raine

Blood Toy e-book

Rating: 3 stars

Series: #1

Although Blood Toy had some of the standard UF characters such as vampires and werewolves, it had some unusual ones too. Some characters were unique in such a way that I’m not sure how to define what they were. The vamps and weres didn’t operate by the normal rules either. It’s rare to find a different spin on things in UF, which made it refreshing to read this.

Diane was tough and strong. I loved it that she showed her strength through actions rather than with words. She had a tragic past and lead a life of solitude, but she was easy to relate to. Diane definitely had some interesting abilities.

Desollador stole the show for me! He was smart and charming although he was definitely not boyfriend material. Controlling others was something he greatly enjoyed. I like demented characters, so this side of him appealed to me. And he was a vampire. They’re always my favorite characters.

I was not fond of Diane’s friends. Her male friends in particular weren’t kind to her. I understood why her friends felt the way they did, but it was hard to grasp why these people were actually friends. I didn’t feel a connection between them. The trust between all of them developed too quickly. Loners don’t usually make instant connections with people who were practically strangers. This was an issue for me since her friends had a large role in the second half of the book.

The ending while not predictable felt slightly rushed. Some characters gained strength and wisdom while others revealed the worst of themselves. Although I was not offended by certain elements, they would definitely bother some people. Dark novels are fascinating, so I really enjoyed those aspects of Blood Toy.

Thanks to the author for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review!

Leave a Reply

